Follow Us on Apple News

As we all know, Google.com is a great search tool.  I use it on a daily (sometimes even hourly) basis when searching for stories or how to’s for this web site.

But not many people know, that when you do a search on Google, that they save that search to your “Search History” so that if / when you search for the same topic again, that search will come up faster and even be in a drop-down window for you to click on.

While handy, sometimes, you do not want that “footprint” to show up again.  This could also be used by Google and/or advertisers to push related ads to you.

Fortunately, Google.com has a way for you to delete your Search history.  Here’s how:

  1. Go to https://myactivity.google.com.
  2. Sign in with your Google’s email account.
  3. You’ll be presented with the “Google – My Activity” screen.
  4. Select the “Delete Activity By” option from the menu on the left.
  5. Next, you can delete the search activity by date.
  6. Drop down the menu, you’ll be presented with how you’d like the data to be deleted.
  7. Select an option and then click DELETE.
  8. Now your Google search history has been deleted with the parameters you’ve selected in option 7.
  9. That’s it.

It is a good idea to do the above once a month so nobody can find out what you searched for the previous month.